e-procurement

Many individual orders and high procurement costs with low volumes and minimal call-offs at the same time make the procurement of C-parts a challenge in large manufacturing companies. However, e-procurement systems are used to be able to procure consumables systematically and efficiently; these handle the operational processes on desktop purchasing systems and enable a more or less automated digital interaction between the supplier and buyer depending on the requirement.

Sell-side e-procurement: The disadvantages of webshops

The best known e-procurement solution is the supplier’s webshop that is primarily used for B2C procurement, but presents a number of obstacles and causes additional costs in the B2B sector:

  • The webshop is limited to a finite product portfolio.
  • The user is forced to leave their own system and go into the supplier’s system.
  • Order details are not automatically kept in the customer’s system.
  • The floodgates are opened for maverick buying.
  • It makes controlling more difficult
  • Considerable efforts are needed to control incoming goods and quality.
  • Special delivery requirements cannot be taken into account.
  • The processing of invoices and payments is more difficult.

Buy-side: Company’s own e-procurement solutions

Complex systems procurement management, production control and ERP systems tailored to the respective business area are already maintained in large industrial companies that efficiently manage and control the flow of goods. Since a move away from these systems is always associated with the above-mentioned costs and disadvantages, there is often a requirement in the B2B sector for the supplier to adapt and ideally establish an appropriate connection to the customer’s system. The customer therefore has the option to order through their own system securely, systematically and efficiently. The advantages of this solution are obvious:

  • The customer can maintain all the parts that they need.
  • The order processing personnel work in a familiar system.
  • The order and delivery data can be processed directly in the customer’s system.
  • Suppliers and products are defined and qualified.
  • The controlling of the procurement process is covered by internal mechanisms.
  • Goods receipt checks are handled automatically.
  • Individual delivery conditions can be integrated.
  • Invoices and payments are processed automatically.

Project plan

E-procurment project plan

There are three steps at the start of every procurement project. First of all, the customer defines the C-parts and quantities required and determines the service requirements. At the same time, we provide product advice and create an individual service concept for ordering and deliveries. Additional procurement optimisation and preparations for the implementation of the-procurement system are made after providing this basic advice:

  1. Data cleansing and harmonisation
  2. The creation of an e-catalogue
  3. Interface connection to the required EDI standards

e-procurement based procurement process for your C-parts

The benefits of the project work can be enjoyed in day-to-day business after the successful implementation. The procurement process now runs automatically and in a structured manner according to the set requirements. The error rate is very low and can be reduced further through regular feedback channels.

Your contact

Thomas Dahmen

Project Manager e-procurement

E-Procurement

Viele Einzelbestellungen und ein hoher Beschaffungsaufwand bei gleichzeitig geringem Volumen und wenigen Abrufen machen die Beschaffung von C-Teilen in großen produzierenden Industrieunternehmen zu einer Herausforderung. Um Hilfs- und Betriebsstoffe dennoch systematisch und effizient beschaffen zu können, werden E-Procurement-Systeme eingesetzt, welche die operativen Vorgänge über Desktop-Purchasing-Systeme abwickeln und eine je nach Anforderung mehr oder weniger automatisierte, digitale Interaktion zwischen Lieferant und Käufer ermöglichen.

Sell-Side E-Procurement: Die Nachteile von Webshops

Die wohl bekannteste E-Procurement-Lösung ist der lieferantenseitige Webshop, der vor allem in der B2C-Beschaffung Anwendung findet, im B2B-Bereich aber etliche Hürden aufweist und Mehrkosten verursacht:

  • Der Webshop ist beschränkt auf ein endliches Produktportfolio.
  • Der Nutzer ist gezwungen, das eigene System zu verlassen und sich in das System des Lieferanten einzufinden.
  • Bestelldaten werden nicht automatisch in das kundenseitige System eingepflegt.
  • Dem Maverick-Buying werden Tür und Tor geöffnet.
  • Das Controlling wird erschwert
  • Es besteht ein erheblicher Aufwand für die Kontrolle des Wareneingangs und der Qualität.
  • Besondere Anforderungen an die Lieferung können nicht berücksichtigt werden.
  • Die Rechnungs- und Zahlungsabwicklung wird erschwert.

Buy-Side: Unternehmenseigene E-Procurement-Lösungen

In großen Industrieunternehmen werden bereits komplexe und auf das jeweilige Geschäftsfeld perfekt abgestimmte Systeme für Beschaffungsabwicklung, Produktionssteuerung und Warenwirtschaft gepflegt, welche den Warenfluss effizient steuern und kontrollieren. Da ein Ausbruch aus diesen Systemen immer mit den oben genannten Kosten bzw. Nachteilen verbunden ist, besteht im B2B-Bereich häufig die Anforderung, dass sich der Lieferant anpasst und im Optimalfall bereit ist  eine adäquate Anbindung an das Kundensystem zu schaffen. Der Kunde hat so die Möglichkeit sicher, systematisch und effizient über das eigene System zu bestellen. Die Vorteile dieser Lösung liegen auf der Hand:

  • Es können alle Artikel eingepflegt werden, die der Kunde benötigt.
  • Die Bestellauslöser arbeiten im gewohnten System.
  • Die Bestell- und Lieferdaten können direkt im kundenseitigen System verarbeitet werden.
  • Lieferanten und Produkte sind festgelegt und qualifiziert.
  • Das Controlling des Beschaffungsprozesses ist über interne Instrumente abgedeckt.
  • Wareneingangskontrollen werden automatisch abgewickelt.
  • Individuelle Liefermodalitäten können integriert werden.
  • Die Abwicklung von Rechnung und Zahlung wird automatisiert.

Projektablauf

E-Procurement Projektablauf

Zu Beginn eines jeden Beschaffungsprojektes stehen drei Schritte. Zunächst erfolgt auf Kundenseite die Definition der C-Artikel und Bedarfsmengen sowie die Ermittlung der Serviceanforderungen. Wir kümmern uns gleichzeitig um die Produktberatung sowie die Erstellung eines individuellen Servicekonzeptes für Bestellwesen und Lieferung. Nach dieser Basisberatung Erfolgt die weitere Beschaffungsoptimierung sowie die Vorbereitungen zur Umsetzung des E-Procurement-Systems:

  1. Datenbereinigung und Harmonisierung
  2. Die Erstellung des E-Kataloges
  3. Schnittstellenanbindung nach den geforderten EDI-Standards

E-Procurement-gestützter Beschaffungsprozess für Ihre C-Teile

Nach erfolgreicher Implementierung gilt es die Früchte der Projektarbeit im Tagesgeschäft zu ernten. Der Beschaffungsprozess läuft nun gemäß den gesetzten Anforderungen automatisiert und strukturiert ab. Die Fehlerquote ist verschwindend gering und kann über regelmäßige Feedbackschleifen weiterhin minimiert werden.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Thomas Dahmen
Projektleiter e-procurement